This rugged region is a portion of the Canadian Rocky Mountains that stretches along much of the western border of Alberta. It is characterized by forests of coniferous trees, such as spruce, fir and pine. At higher elevations, permanent snow fields and glaciers are scattered among rocky ledges, scree slopes and alpine meadows. Adjacent to this region are Alberta's three mountain national parks: Jasper, Banff and Waterton Lakes. Hunting is prohibited in national parks.


You can reach the major centres in the mountain region via excellent all-season highways from Calgary and Edmonton. The region is traversed by paved highways and gravel roads.